Little Miss Drama

Letting go of 2006 and Welcoming 2007 with a blast

on January 3, 2007

2006 was not exactly a good year for me because of everything I had to go through but it was a year of learning…learning for me to grow up, become more mature in handling challenges,be an independent person.

January was the “wrong move” month. This made me realize how pretty stubborn I could get. All the secret meetings despite having my DSL training…despite lacking hours of sleep…despite all the sermon I got from Joji…despite all the advice Pedro could give…they were still  not able to stop me from doing what I wanted at that time. Yet, I became more unhappy and now I realize it was just not worth all the trouble.

February was the month of discovery. I met new people and eventually became friends with them. I started laughing again and definitely could not forget all the wonderful exchange of conversations, the yosi and coffee breaks,the UP Fair, my birthday celebration (of course!) and all the Valero moments I had shared with the people from Ops.

March became an exciting month. It was a month filled with mixed emotions. I felt sad because of the fact that I was about to leave the people I love yet I was also looking forward on what was in store for me in UAE.

April & May were my “bum” months and experienced how tough it was to look for a good job here especially in the industry I wanted. All those exhausting walks in Dubai, the floor to floor/building to building walks in Abu Dhabi, the numerous online applications and the pressure of being on a visit visa. And of course, how could I forget the Kish experience in Iran all by myself. I was not able to sleep at all the day before I left for Kish!

June & July were the months I realized how stubborn I really am. I decided to take a leap instead of just taking a step and Nessa could not do anything but watch and be a friend.

August & September were the months for facing the truth. Despite all the shocking discovery, the fights and misunderstandings, I know I’d still be grateful that Vink Kspear came because he let me see the other side of the situation that I could not understand before. Yet, I had to let go of a friend for everyone’s sake…for my sake.

October, November and December were again my “back to you” months and I still couldn’t understand why…Perhaps because I never really got any answers to my innumerable hanging questions.

2006 is over. I wanted to welcome 2007 filled with so much hope and optimism. I want to do things I have never done before. Thus, that was what I did in Global Village. I tried to conquer the fear I have in riding roller coasters. I went with Nessa, Dindo and Baby on the two roller coaster rides (one with a loop and one without). Indeed, it was fun. 🙂

At the struck of 12 on January 1st, we were parked in front of Emirates Palace watching the magnificent display of fireworks for 30 minutes. Then I received an unexpected call from G greeting me “Happy New Year”. I was supposed to go with him in Wafi City in Dubai but since it was impossible to commute from Abu Dhabi all the way there at that time, I had to pass up the offer. And so, he also just had to stay in his flat.

I was really in the mood to celebrate so I coaxed Nessa to go with us to Rockwell Bar. After a couple of drinks, a good music (Alice! Who the f@#$% is Alice??! Hahaha!) and a bonus of having the band’s drummer come over to our table and introduced himself and had a small chat, I think it was a good way of welcoming 2007. :p

Leave a Reply

Charlotte Farhan Art - Creating Change

Visual Artist, Published Illustrator, Writer, Editor, Activist and Managing Director of ASLI non-profit

A Tourist, A Traveler and A Lover of Art

I always believe that if you've experienced something extraordinary, you have no right to keep it to yourself. Paola Nazario

Monsoon Breeze

Homely Thoughts and Arabian Dreams

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

MIRAGE

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one. So get a few laughs and do the best you can. Don't have an ideal to work for. That's like riding towards the mirage of a lake.

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Cinta, serta berbagi kata yang baru terupdate

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Kata Cinta, Kata Ucapan, dan berbagi kata hanya untuk kesenangan

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

