Little Miss Drama

Let’s all help Sir Monico Atienza…a great mentor.

on January 4, 2007

I was shocked when I saw Loit’s post here in Friendster’s bull board recently about Sir Monico Atienza. I even got confused at first if she was referring to the same person who used to be my Professor in UP. Thus, I immediately sent Loit a message. And here’s her reply:

Loitering wrote:

hi len, yup prof ko rin sya sa PI. galing kami ni pong sa PGH kagabi. nakakaawa sya. matagal na syang walang boses yun pala may cancer sya sa throat. tas nagcollapse daw sya tas nawalan ng heart beat for 25 mins. nagcomatose pa sya. tas kagabi nakakahinga na sya mag-isa pero nakatirik yung mata nya. naapektuhan daw yung utak nya dahil nawalan ng hangin. pero sabi nung mga nagbabantay sa kanya nararamdaman nya yun. pinipilit nga nyang gumalaw, minsan bumubuka yung bibig nya tas ginagalaw nya mata nya pero yung mata nya nakatingin lang sa taas. babalik kami sa saturday.

halos mga kaibigan lang nuya yung nagbabantay. yung pamilya nya nasa
US. hiwalay sila ng asawa niya yata. pero sabi nila uuwi yung panganay nya.

Again, I could not explain what I was feeling while reading her reply. I feel so sorry for Sir Atienza and I know all I could do right now is to keep on praying that his condition gets better and try to help him financially as well as much as I could.

Simple things that I won’t forget about Sir Atienza:

Sir Atienza, as my bestfriend, Jen, and I call him, is a very funny person aside from being a great mentor. He was my professor in PI subject. At that time, Jen and I still lacked one Filipino elective for that sem. We found out that Sir Atienza happens to teach a Filipino subject as well. Thus, on our first day in PI class, after giving out class cards to sign, I went up to him and asked if we could still get in his Filipino class. And he said “Naku puno na kasi yung class ko na yun eh.” After more persuasion and begging, he finally said “Ano’ng pangalan mo? Miss Artana? O sige, sumunod kayo sa ‘kin ni Miss Timbol sa FC at titingnan natin kung pwede pa kayong dumagdag.” And that was how we got the Filipino elective.

He’s one of the reasons why I enjoyed my PI class…He is a great mentor. He lets you discover things on your own which was why most of the time, I would always be in the main library buried in books because of my research. And yes, PI lang yun. Not a major subject. And I still remember our final exam. You have to pick a certain topic (at least three) and discuss it with him and then he would ask you questions. Of course, Jen and I aced it. I got a final grade of 1.25 from him. Hehehe. 😀

So if you happen to be reading this blog and you happen to know him personally, you used to be his student, you are from UP or you have a good heart or you just happen to be my friend who has a good heart…I would very much appreciate if you include him in your prayers and if you can help financially, just let me know.

Leave a Reply

Charlotte Farhan Art - Creating Change

Visual Artist, Published Illustrator, Writer, Editor, Activist and Managing Director of ASLI non-profit

A Tourist, A Traveler and A Lover of Art

I always believe that if you've experienced something extraordinary, you have no right to keep it to yourself. Paola Nazario

Monsoon Breeze

Homely Thoughts and Arabian Dreams

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

MIRAGE

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one. So get a few laughs and do the best you can. Don't have an ideal to work for. That's like riding towards the mirage of a lake.

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Cinta, serta berbagi kata yang baru terupdate

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Kata Cinta, Kata Ucapan, dan berbagi kata hanya untuk kesenangan

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

