Little Miss Drama

Lines from Grey’s Anatomy – Season 2

on February 1, 2007

Let it Be Quotes:

MEREDITH: [narrating] “Mrs. Snyder explained to me that when fate comes into play, choice sometimes goes out the window. Maybe Romeo and Juliet were fated to be together, but just for a while, and then their time passed. If they could have known that beforehand, maybe it all would have been okay. I told Mrs. Snyder that when I was grown up, I’d take fate into my own hands. I wouldn’t let some guy drag me down. Mrs. Snyder said that I’d be lucky if I ever had that kind of passion with someone, and if I did, we’d be together forever. Even now, I believe that for the most part, love is about choices. It’s about putting down the poison and the dagger and making your own happy ending… most of the time. And sometimes, despite all your best intentions, fate wins anyway.”

MEREDITH: “I think you can’t wait for someone to fly underneath you and save your life… I think you have to save yourself.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “For extra credit, Mrs. Snyder used to make us act out all the parts. Sal Scafarillo was Romeo. As fate would have it, I was Juliet. Most of the girls were green with envy. I wasn’t. I told Ms. Snyder that Juliet was an idiot. For one thing, she falls for the one guy she knows she can’t have… Everyone thinks it’s so romantic: Romeo and Juliet, true love… how sad. If Juliet was stupid enough to fall for the enemy, drink a bottle of poison, and go to sleep in a mausoleum, then she deserved everything she got.”

Thanks for the Memories Quotes:

MEREDITH: [narrating] “Maybe we’re not supposed to be happy. Maybe gratitude has nothing to do with joy. Maybe being grateful means recognizing what you have for what it is. Appreciating small victories. Admiring the struggle it takes simply to be human. Maybe we’re thankful for the familiar things we know. And maybe we’re thankful for the things we’ll never know. At the end of the day, the fact that we have the courage to still be standing is reason enough to celebrate.”

Much Too Much Quotes:

PRESTON: [to Cristina] “I know you. You don’t want to move but I can’t always be the one that takes a step. Any more steps and I’m walking away.”

MEREDITH: [to Cristina] “They always look so sad when I kick them out. Seriously, why do guys not understand that when you pick them up in a bar and take them home for sex, that there are no picket fences or kids in your future?”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “When you’re a kid, it’s Halloween candy. You hide it from your parents and you eat it until you get sick. In college, it’s the heavy combo of youth, tequila and well… you know. As a surgeon, you take as much of the good as you can get because it doesn’t come around nearly as often as it should. Because good things aren’t always what they seem. Too much of anything, even love, is not always a good thing.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “How do you know how much is too much? Too much too soon. Too much information. Too much fun. Too much love, or too much to ask of someone? When is it all just too much for us to bear?”

Owner of a Lonely Heart Quotes:

MEREDITH: [narrating] “Four hundred years ago, another English guy had an opinion on being alone. John Donne. He thought we were never alone. Of course it was fancier when he said it. No man is an island entire onto himself. Boil down that island talk and he just means that all anyone needs is someone to step in and let us know we’re not alone. And who’s to say that someone can’t have four legs. Someone to play with, or run around with, or just hang out.”

IZZIE: “When Derek broke up with you, nobody told you were better off without him. It’s not supportive, it’s condescending. I was there for you, and the one time I need you? Just go away, Meredith.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “Forty years ago, the Beatles asked the world a question. They wanted to know where all the lonely people came from. My theory is that a great many of the lonely people come from hospitals. More precisely, the surgical wing of hospitals. As surgeons, we ignore our own needs so we can meet our patients’ needs. We ignore our friends and families so we can save other people’s friends and families. Which means that, at the end of the day, all we really have is ourselves. And nothing in this world can make you feel more alone than that.”

Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer Quotes:

DEREK: “Do you happen to know what time of year neurosurgeons are busiest, Dr. Stevens?”
IZZIE: “There’s a particular time of year?”
DEREK: “There’s no hard or fast rule, but brain injuries tend to pile up around the holidays. Folks fall off roofs while they string up lights. They go skating for the first time in a decade and break their heads open. Every year people drive through blizzards to get to parties where they kiss germ infected strangers under poisonous mistletoe. Then they get drunk and smash their heads through their windshield on their way home. But there’s no hard or fast rule.”

PRESTON: “I believe there’s a mind/body/spirit connection. If Justin really doesn’t want this heart, his body will reject it.”
CRISTINA: “So, let me get this straight. You not only celebrate Christmas, but you actually believe in Santa Claus?”
PRESTON: [pauses] “Go clean up.”
CRISTINA: “But we’re not done here.”
PRESTON: “You are.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “It’s an urban myth that suicide rates spike at the holidays. Turns out they actually go down. Experts think it’s because people are less inclined to off themselves when surrounded by friends and family. Ironically, that same family togetherness is thought to be the reason that depression rates actually do spike at the holidays… Okay. Izzie doesn’t count.”

ADDISON: “Are you sad? Depressed? What? It’s Christmas, Derek. We love Christmas. Or at least we used to.”
DEREK: [pauses] “I’m not saying this to hurt you, or because I want to leave you, because I don’t. Meredith wasn’t a fling. She wasn’t revenge. I fell in love with her. That doesn’t go away because I decided to stay with you.”

MEREDITH: [to Alex] “Enough with the ego, you big baby! I gave up a surgery for this! Now. Like I said, it hurts here, and here, and back here. Oh, and this morning? I noticed my poop was a funny grayish color.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “There’s an old proverb that says you can’t choose your family. You take what fate hands you. And like them or not, love them or not, understand them or not, you cope. Then there’s the school of thought that says the family you’re born into is simply a starting point. They feed you, clothe you, and take care of you until you’re ready to go out into the world. There you find your own tribe.”

MEREDITH: “We know he cheated on you. That’s why we let you turn the house into Santa’s Freaking Village. We’re not big on holidays. We’re trying to be supportive, because you’re having a hard time. But right now, Alex is having a harder time.”
IZZIE: “Why should anybody care what kind of time Alex is having!?”
MEREDITH: “Because he’s Dirty Uncle Sal!”
IZZIE: [looks confused]
MEREDITH: “Dirty Uncle Sal. The one who embarrasses everyone at holidays and family reunions and who can’t be left alone with the teenage girls, but you have to invite him anyway. Look… I have a mother who doesn’t recognize me and as far as family goes, you guys are it. So I know you’re pissed at Alex, but maybe… maybe you could try and help him anyway. Like, in the spirit of this holiday you keep shoving down everybody’s throats.”

MIRANDA: “When you operate, the rest of the world goes away. No thirst, pain… but it’s not that way when you’re sharing your body with another person.”

Begin the Begin Quotes:

MEREDITH: Hi.
DEREK: [walks into elevator] “Hi. Leaving?”
MEREDITH: “80-hour limit. You?”
DEREK: “Surgery was postponed.” [smiles]
MEREDITH: [pauses] “I have a dog.”
DEREK: “You have a dog.”
MEREDITH: “My point is, I have a dog.”
DEREK: [smiles] “You have a dog. Oh, and you know what? I love dogs.”
MEREDITH: “I’ve moved on, so don’t give me that look.”
DEREK: “What look?”
MEREDITH: “That look. Our look. I’m over you.”
DEREK: “I’m over you, too.”
MEREDITH: “You are?”
DEREK: “No.”
MEREDITH: “Oh. Well, I am. Over you.”
DEREK: “I’m over you too.”
MEREDITH: “You just said… shut up.” [smiles]

MEREDITH: [narrating] “Fresh starts thanks to the calendar they happen every year. Just set your watch to January, our reward for surviving the holiday season. Bringing on the great tradition of new years resolutions, put your past behind you and start over. It’s hard to resist the chance for a new beginning, a chance to put the problems of last year to bed.”

DEREK: [to Addison] “There is a land called Passive Agresseva, and you are their queen.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “Who gets to determine when the old ends and the new begins? It’s not on the calendar, it’s not a birthday, it’s not a new year. It’s an event, big or small, something that changes us. Ideally, that gives us hope, a new way of living and looking at the world, a way of letting go of old habits, old memories. What’s important is that we never stop believing we can have a new beginning, but it’s also important to remember that, amid all the crap, there are a few things worth holding on to.”

DENNY: “That guy Alex. You with him?”
IZZIE: “No.”
DENNY: [smiles] “Good. That means I won’t have to fight him for you.”
IZZIE: “What makes you think I want you to fight him for me?”
DENNY: “You’re in love with me. I’m well off, but not into money. I’m smart, but not a know-it-all. I’m funny, I love animals. And I’m hot. I’m a catch, if you can wrap yourself around the enlarged failing heart.”
IZZIE: “You’re right. I am sooo in love with you. It’s a shame, really, since I’m with Hildy and all.”

GEORGE: [to Bex] “You just have to get through high school. High school sucks for anyone who’s the least bit different. But then there’s college, and then out in the real world, you’ll find where you belong.”

MIRANDA: “You just have to know. And when you don’t know? No one can fault you for it. You do what you can, when you can, while you can. When you can’t, you can’t.”

DEREK: “I’m just trying to help.”
MEREDITH: “Well, see this? What you’re doing, being dreamy? It doesn’t help. It hurts me. It messes with my head. You have a wife to go home to and I’m guessing she has no idea where you are right now.”
DEREK: “No, she doesn’t.”
MEREDITH: “That’s what I thought.”

DENNY: “Can I ask you something personal?”
IZZIE: “If I say no?”
DENNY: “I’ll hold my breath, which will stop my heart, killing me. You’re right here, you’ll be charged with murder. Life in prison, loved by a big old girl named Hildy.”
IZZIE: “So my options are homicide charges or inappropriate personal questions from a patient.”
DENNY: “I know, kind of sucks.”

Tell Me Sweet Little Lies Quotes:

MEREDITH: [narrating] “No matter how hard we try to ignore or deny it, eventually the lies fall away, like it or not. But here’s the truth about the truth. It hurts. So we lie.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “As doctors, we’re trained to be skeptical, because patients lie to us all the time. The rule is, every patient is a liar until proven honest. Lying is bad. Or so we are told constantly from birth. Honesty is the best policy, the truth shall set you free, I chopped down the cherry tree. Whatever. The fact is, lying is a necessity. We lie to ourselves because the truth… the truth freaking hurts.”

CRISTINA: “We’re in an elevator. That’s your specialty, right? McDreamy moments in the elevator?”
DEREK: “Dr. Yang-”
CRISTINA: “You know what? For just a moment, I’m not Dr. Yang and you’re not Dr. Shepherd. You’re the guy who screwed up my friend. The guy who drove her to get a dog she can’t keep, the dog she only got because her boyfriend lied to her about his wife.”
DEREK: “I never lied to her.”
CRISTINA: “Yes you are. You know, I know a liar when I see one because I am a liar.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “Everybody’s a liar.”

PRESTON: “Dr. Grey, is that a dog?”
MEREDITH: [holding dog by the leash] “No.”
MIRANDA: “Tell me that is not a dog.”
ALEX: “It’s not a dog.”

IZZIE: [opens Alex’s test scores] “Congratulations, you’re not an idiot. Except when you are being an idiot.”

DEREK: “I was being nice to her.”
CRISTINA: “Okay.”
DEREK: “I can be nice to her without being-”
CRISTINA: “McDreamy, I know.”
DEREK: “I really can.”
CRISTINA: “Okay.”
DEREK: “Okay then.”
DEREK: “Yes, compassion, It’s an emotion. Have you ever heard of it?”
CRISTINA: “Have you? She’s barely back on her feet and you’ve got her calling you McDreamy again. You know, I was just telling the patient the truth. You might want to try it sometime.”

MEREDITH: “Everybody’s a liar.”

Break on Through Quotes:

MEREDITH: [narrating] “In general, lines are there for a reason. For security, for clarity. If you choose to cross the line, you pretty much do so at your own risk. So why is it that the bigger the line, the greater the temptation to cross it? We cant help ourselves. When we see a line we want to cross it. Maybe it’s the thrill of the unfamiliar, a sort of personal dare. The only problem is once that you’ve crossed, it’s almost impossible to go back. But, if you do manage to make it back across the line, you find safety in numbers.”

MEREDITH: [to Richard] “She lights up when you’re around. She’s alive. Keep visiting. I can’t… I don’t… I don’t want my mother to die alone.”

It’s the End of the World Quotes:

MEREDITH: “I have this feeling.”
DEREK: “I get that feeling also. If you wait long enough it will pass.”
MEREDITH: “Do you promise?”
DEREK: “I promise.”

CRISTINA: “Get out of bed, we’re gonna be late.”
MEREDITH: “I have a feeling.”
CRISTINA: “You have a feeling?”
MEREDITH: “Yes.”
CRISTINA: “What kind of feeling?”
MEREDITH: “Like I might die.”
CRISTINA: “Today? Tomorrow? In 50 years? We’re all going to die eventually. Now we’re late! Let’s go!”
MEREDITH: “Oh Cristina, c’mon!”
CRISTINA: “What? I’m being supportive.”
MEREDITH: “Really?”
CRISTINA: “Yeah, this is me being totally supportive. Go on.”
MEREDITH: “Okay. The man I love has a wife and then he chooses her over me. Then the wife takes my dog. Well, she didn’t actually take my dog. I gave it to her. But I didn’t mean to give it to her, I meant to give it to him, and that doesn’t change the fact that she’s got Derek. And my McDog. She’s got my McLife! What have I got? I can’t even remember the last time we kissed. Because you never think the last time is the last time. You think you have forever, but you don’t. Plus my conditioner decided to stop working and I think I have brittle bones. I need something to happen. I just need a sign. I need a reason to go on. I need some hope, and in the absence of hope, I need to stay in bed and feel like I might die today.”
CRISTINA: [pauses, then drags Meredith out of bed] “Whatever. Everybody has problems. Get your ass out of bed and get to work. NOW! Move, move, move!”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “It’s a look patients get in their eyes… Some kind of sixth sense, when the great beyond is headed for you, you feel it coming. What’s the one thing you’ve always dreamed of doing before you died?”

(As We Know It) Quotes:

MEREDITH: “I can’t, I can’t remember our last kiss. All I could think about was ‘I’m going to die today’ and I can’t remember our last kiss. Which is pathetic but the last time we were together and happy… I want to be able remember that. And I can’t, Derek. I can’t remember.”
DEREK: “I’m glad you didn’t die today.”
[pause]
DEREK: “It was a Thursday morning, you were wearing that ratty little Dartmouth t-shirt you look so good in. The one with the hole at the back of the neck. You’d just washed you hair and smelled like some kind of… flower. I was running late for surgery, you said you were going to see me later, and you lean to me, put your hand on my chest and you kissed me. Soft. It was quick. Kind of like a habit. You know, like we’d do it everyday for the rest of our lives. Then you went back reading the newspaper and I went to work. That was the last time we kissed.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “In hospitals, they say you know when you’re going to die. Some doctors say it’s a look patients get in their eyes. Some say there’s a scent, a certain smell. Some say it’s some kind of sixth sense. When the great beyond is headed for you, you feel it coming. If today were your last day on Earth? How would you spend it?”

MEREDITH: “Stop it.”
DYLAN: “What?”
MEREDITH: “Stop looking at me like I’m a patient.”
DYLAN: “I’m sorry?”
MEREDITH: “The two of you are looking at me the way we look at patients. Like I’m gonna freak out at any minute. Well, I’m not going to freak out, so whatever it is, just tell me straight up.”

PRESTON: [pauses] “The main oxygen line runs directly under this floor.”
MEREDITH: “Okay. Not okay.” [silence] “Well, I need one of you to tell me what this means exactly. Because I think I know what it means, but I tend to be glass half-empty these days, so I don’t trust what I think it means. Because what I think it means is that if the bomb were to explode over the oxygen line, the whole hospital could blow up. That’s just crazy right?”

Yesterday Quotes:

PRESTON: [enters his apartment] “I am Preston Burke. I am a widely renowned cardio-thoracic surgeon. I am a professional and moreover I am a good, kind person. I am a person that cleans up after himself. I am a great cook. And you? You are an unbelievable slob. A slovenly, angry intern. I am Preston Burke. And you… are the most competitive, guarded, stubborn… the most challenging person I have ever met. And I love you. Why the hell won’t you just let me?
CRISTINA: “I gave up my apartment 20 minutes ago.”
PRESTON: [pauses] “Well, alright then.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “I’ve heard that it’s possible to grow up, I’ve just never met anyone who’s actually done it. Without parents to defy, we break the rules we make for ourselves. We throw tantrums when things don’t go our way. We whisper secrets with our best friend, in the dark. We look for comfort where we can find it. And we hope against all logic, against all experience, like children, we never give up hope.”

ELLIS: “And my husband wonders why I’m not interested in him anymore. I tell you, if he had any balls at all, he’d leave. But no, he plays stupid. Waiting for me to walk out. I came home the other day with a hickey, a hickey for God’s sake! Like I’m some sort of sex-crazed teenager! And what does Thatcher do? Pretend he doesn’t see it.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “After careful consideration and many sleepless nights, here’s what I’ve decided. There’s no such thing as a grown-up. We move out, we move away from our families. But the basic insecurities, the fears and all the old wounds just grow up with us. Just when you think life has forced you to truly become an adult, your mother says something like that. We get bigger, taller, older. But, for the most part, we’re still a bunch of kids, running around the playground, trying desperately to fit in.”

GEORGE: [to Meredith] “Hi. I… I know I’m not a world-renowned surgeon, and… I know I’m not a lot of things you’ve gone for in the past. I know that. But… I would never leave you. I would never hurt you. And I will never stop loving you.”

MARK: “You and I are the dirty mistresses.”
MEREDITH: “I suppose we are. Why do you think that is?”
MARK: “My $400-dollar-an-hour shrink says it’s because behind this rugged and confident exterior, I’m self-loathing and self-destructive to an almost pathological degree.”
MEREDITH: “We have a lot in common.”
MARK: “It’s funny. Derek walks in on me naked with his wife, and just turns around and walks away. But then he sees me so much as talking to you, and I’m on the ground bleeding. Interesting, don’t you think?”

MEREDITH: “Why do people cheat?”
DEREK: “That’s a good question.”

MEREDITH: “Why do you think she cheated on you? Were you different then? Were you a bad husband?”
DEREK: “I was… I was just a little absent. Not that that’s an excuse for her.”
MEREDITH: “Do you think things would have been different if you had kids?”
DEREK: “Do I think she wouldn’t have cheated? I don’t know.”

ADDISON: “Why are you here?”
MARK: “For one reason. To bring you home. I miss you Addison.”
ADDISON: “I’m in love with my husband, Mark.”
MARK: “He’s not in love with you. He’s in love with that intern. He’s not even trying to hide it. Why would you want to stick around for that?”

IZZIE: “You know when you don’t have sex for a while you sort of forget how good it is and you don’t really need it as much?”
GEORGE: “Yeah, that doesn’t happen to guys.”

What Have I Done to Deserve This Quotes:

CRISTINA: “George, if you’re sick of bad things happening to you, stop putting up with it and demand better.”

ALEX: [to Meredith] “That’s what you do. When you feel sorry for yourself, you get drunk and sleep with inappropriate men. It’s okay. I find it charming.”

GEORGE: [narrating] “Karma. One way or another it will leave us to face ourselves. We can look our karma in the eye or we can wait for it to sneak up from behind. But karma will always find us. The truth is, as surgeons, we have more chances than most to set the balance in our favor. Yet no matter how hard we try we can’t escape our karma. It follows us home. I guess we can’t really complain about our karma. It’s not an affair. It’s not unexpected. It just… evens the score. And even when we’re about to do something that we know will tempt karma to bite us in the ass… well, it goes without saying. We do it anyway.”

DENNY: “Hey.”
IZZIE: “Hey.”
DENNY: “Do you believe in karma?”
IZZIE: “Actually, I do.”
DENNY: “I think you might be mine.”
IZZIE: “Well then you must have been very very good to deserve me.”

IZZIE: [to Meredith, George] “What? So I slept with him again. So I’m a big whore. A big horny whore who can’t get enough. Can we get over the shocked silence already?”

GEORGE: “I guess we can’t really complain about karma. It’s not unfair. It’s not unexpected. It just evens the score.”

MEREDITH: “I did a terrible thing.”
DEREK: “We all do terrible things.”
MEREDITH: “No… I… I really think that I have just lost all my friends.”
DEREK: “You won’t lose me.”
MEREDITH: “You aren’t my friend.”
DEREK: “Sure I am.”

Superstition Quotes:

IZZIE: “What did you say to him?”
ALEX: “What are you talking about?”
IZZIE: “Why does he think he’s dying?”
ALEX: “Maybe because he is.”
IZZIE: “Just so we’re clear… we’re over, Alex. This is over.”
ALEX: “What? You’re breaking up with me over a corpse!”
IZZIE: “No! No! I’m breaking up with you because… on your very best day, that corpse… is twice the man you will ever be. You’re not good enough for me, Alex. You’re not good enough for anyone.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “Superstition lies in the space between what we can control and what we can’t. Find a penny, pick it up, all day long you’ll have good luck. No one wants to pass up a chance for good luck. But does saying it 33 times really help? Is anyone actually listening? Why do we bother doing those strange things? We rely on superstitions because we’re smart enough to know we don’t have all the answers.. and that life works in mysterious ways. Don’t diss the juju, from wherever it comes.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “My college campus has a magic statue. It’s a tradition for students to rub its nose for good luck. My freshman roommate really believed in it and insisted on rubbing its nose before every exam. Studying might have been a better idea. She flunked out her sophomore year. But we all have little superstitious things that we do. If it’s not believing in magic statues, it’s avoiding sidewalk cracks or always putting our left shoe on first. Knock on wood. Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. The last thing we want to do is offend the gods.”

Band-Aid Covers the Bullet Hole Quotes:

MEREDITH: [narrating] “As doctors, patients are always telling us how they’d do our jobs. Just stitch me up, slap a band-aid on it and send me home. It’s easy to suggest a quick solution, when you don’t know much about the problem or you don’t understand the underlying cause or just how deep the wound is. The first step toward a real cure is to know exactly what the disease is to begin with. But that’s not what people want to hear… We’re supposed to forget the past that led us here, ignore the future complications that might arise and go for the quick fix.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “As doctors, as friends, as human beings, we all try to do the best we can. But the world is full of unexpected twists and turns. Just when you’ve gotten the lay of the land, the ground underneath you shifts. It knocks you off your feet. If you’re lucky, you end up with nothing more than a flesh wound, something a band-aid will cover. But some wounds are deeper than they first appear, and require more than just a quick fix. With some wounds, you have to rip of the band-aid, let them breathe and give them time to heal.”

MEREDITH: “So… just friends.”
DEREK: “Just friends. You know, technically you tell friends stuff, after which we share the moments of our lives.”
MEREDITH: “I’ll keep that in mind next time I do a horrible thing.”
DEREK: “No, really, it’s okay. I don’t want to know. Even if I beg, don’t tell me.”

Name of the Game Quotes:

IZZIE: “So… George? He’s really your type, huh?”
CALLI: “You don’t see him. Either of you. He’s just, he’s just George to you. He’s just… O’Malley, your roommate.”
IZZIE: “You don’t have to get all-”
CALLI: “He makes my world stop. George O’Malley is sweet and kind and smart and strong. And he makes my world stop. So you shut up about him.”

ALEX: [to Dr. Burke] “I tell the truth. It’s what I do. It doesn’t make me a bad doctor. Everyone walks around this place lying. We tell a patient who’s dying that there’s hope when there is no hope. Maybe I’m a pig. Maybe I’m an ass. Maybe I’m a vermin like everybody says. But I tell the truth. It’s the only thing I got going for me, and you don’t get to take that away and call it a lesson. Sir.”

DEREK: “Come on, have a drink.”
MEREDITH: “I can’t have a drink, I’m celibate.”
JOE: “You mean sober? She means sober.”
MEREDITH: “No, I mean celibate. I’m practicing celibacy. Drinking does not go well with celibacy because it makes everything and everyone seem kind of porn-y. Then my head gets all cloudy and the next thing you know I’m naked. My point is that I’m celibate, and knitting is good for surgical dexterity, so I’m making a sweater.”
DEREK: “You? Celibate? I don’t buy it.”
MEREDITH: “No more men.”
ADDISON: “No more men? Really? You? I’m just asking, because we’re friends.”
MEREDITH: Every guy I meet turns out to be married.
DEREK: “Oh… ouch.”
MEREDITH: “Or Mark.”
ADDISON: [walks away] “Okay, I’m going to sit over there now.”
MEREDITH: “Sorry. Or, remember the horrible thing I did? Remember George?”
DEREK: “You’re making a sweater.”
MEREDITH: “I’m making a sweater.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “A good basketball game can have us all on the edge of our seats. Games are all about the glory, pain and the play-by-play. Then there are the more solitary games. The ones we play all by ourselves. The social games, the mind games. We use them to pass the time to make life more interesting… to distract us from what’s really going on. There are those of us who love to play games, any games. And there are those of us who love to play a little too much.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “So go ahead. Argue with the ref, change the rules. Cheat a little, take a break and tend to your wounds. But play. Play. Play hard, play fast… play loose and free. Play as if there were no tomorrow. It’s not whether you win or lose, it’s how you play the game… right?

Blues For Sister Someone Quotes

FINN: “So you and Derek… are you together?”
MEREDITH: “Uhhh… Derek and I are, um, just friends. He’s married and I am knitting a sweater. And, um, well, I guess I’m rambling which I tend to do a lot lately and I just wish that someone would just tell me to shut… My point is uh … we’re, um… he’s married and I’m knitting a sweater.”
FINN: “I see. So, you’re single?”
MEREDITH: “Single?”
FINN: “I ask because I was wondering if you would like to go out with me.”
MEREDITH: “Out, with you?”
FINN: “On a date. Tonight.”
MEREDITH: “A date? Tonight?”
FINN: “And you’re repeating everything I say so you can buy yourself some time and figure out a way to let me down easy. It’s okay, you know, I get it.”
MEREDITH: “No. I… I… um… you know you’re very… it’s just that if I were, you would… Not dating!”

MEREDITH: “Obviously I can’t go out with him, right?”
ALEX: “Do I look like a chick to you? Do I look like I care about yeast cream or tingling feelings? He’s not on drugs or in jail or keeping body parts in his basement. If you wanna do ’em, do ’em.”
MEREDITH: “Not do him. Date him. I’m not doing anybody. I’m knitting.”

MEREDITH: “Hey.”
DEREK: “Well, hey.”
MEREDITH: [tries not to laugh] “So, you picked up Doc?”
DEREK: “Yeah, he’s home.”
MEREDITH: “He seems to be doing better.”
DEREK: “Yeah, he’s… he’s doing good.”
MEREDITH: [laughs] “I’m not laughing at you.”
DEREK: [laughs] “No.”
MEREDITH: “It’s just, you know… bad sex isn’t the kind of thing that wives want announced to dirty-ex-mistresses.”
DEREK: “You’re not the dirty ex-mistress. You’re a friend. She’s your friend. I’m your friend. We’re all friends.”
MEREDITH: “But you didn’t tell her.”
DEREK: “No.” [smiles] “So how’s your day going?”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “A wise man once said you can have anything in life if you will sacrifice everything else for it. What he meant is nothing comes without a price. So before you go into battle, you better decide how much you’re willing to lose. Too often, going after what feels good means letting go of what you know is right, and letting someone in means abandoning the walls you’ve spent a lifetime building. Of course, the toughest sacrifices are the ones we don’t see coming, when we don’t have time to come up with a strategy to pick a side or to measure the potential loss. When that happens, when the battle chooses us and not the other way around, that’s when the sacrifice can turn out to be more than we can bear.”

FINN: “Here’s the deal. You have two options. You could, come up to my place, take off all your clothes, shower off the goo, borrow one of my shirts and I’ll cook you dinner. That’s door number one. Door number two… you go home. I think you ought to take door number one, because it involves you naked in my apartment. But, you know, that’s just me.”
MEREDITH: “I should point out that there’s absolutely nothing you could say that would make me go upstairs with you. I’m kind of offended that you think that I would go upstairs with you. And you should know, that I… I’m celibate, so-”
FINN: “Shut up.”
MEREDITH: “I absolutely can not have… sex, with you.”
FINN: “If you choose door number one, I absolutely will not have sex with you.”
MEREDITH: “You wont?”
FINN: “I promise I won’t. I won’t even try to kiss you.”
MEREDITH: [smiles] “Why not?”
FINN: “Meredith.”
MEREDITH: “What?”
FINN: “Choose door number one.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “The key to being a successful intern is what we give up. Sleep, friends, a normal life. We sacrifice it all for that one amazing moment, that moment when you can legally call yourself a surgeon. There are days that make the sacrifices seem worthwhile. Then there are the days where everything feels like a sacrifice. And then there are the sacrifices that you cant even figure out why you’re making.”

17 Seconds Quotes

IZZIE: “No! I get it, okay? I get it! You’ll be okay, you’ll be fine, but what about me?! Don’t do it for yourself, do it for me! Please? Please, Denny! Please do this for me! Because if you die… Oh, God! You have to do this! You have to do this for me, or I’ll never be able to forgive you!”
DENNY: “For dying?”
IZZIE: “No! For making me love you! Please? Please, do this-”

ADDISON: “I can’t compete. He’s not having an affair. He’s not trying to hurt me. He’s just… the only people who don’t know that Derek loves Meredith are Derek and Meredith. How do I compete with that?”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “So what makes anger different from the six other deadly sins? It’s pretty simple really. You give in to a sin like envy or pride, and you only hurt yourself. Try lust or coveting and you’ll only hurt yourself and one or two others. But anger is the worst… the mother of all sins… Not only can anger drive you over the edge, when it does, you can take an awful lot of people with you.”

DEREK: “What do you want from me, Addison?”
ADDISON: “I want you to care. I sleep with your best friend, and you walk away. Then he comes out here from New York and rubs it in your face, and you still get a good night’s sleep. What do I have to do? Oh, I know. Maybe what I should do is go out on a date with the vet, because that seems to be something that sends you into a blinding rage. Oh, but wait. That won’t work either because I’m not Meredith Grey.”

ADDISON: “What they’re doing is not about love, Derek! Well, it’s like you.”
DEREK: “Excuse me?”
ADDISON: “How you pretend to love me, but really you’re just using me to fill this need you have to be a good guy.”
DEREK: “Now’s not the time to talk about this. We’ll talk about this later.”
ADDISON: “What, you walk away? That’s all I get?”
DEREK: “Just calm down, please.”
ADDISON: “Wait, what, you’re not going to yell at me? Call me names? Or, I don’t know, ignore me in an elevator?”

CRISTINA: [watching Preston & Derek throw darts] “He’s picturing my face. He is totally picturing that dart puncturing my skull. Wooo, look at that.”
IZZIE: [to Meredith] “Derek… Derek is picturing you.”
MEREDITH: “He called me a whore. He lost the right to picture me.”
CRISTINA: “So I fall asleep during sex. So what? Ass!”
MEREDITH: “Ass!”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “In life we’re taught that there are seven deadly sins. We all know the big ones… gluttony, pride, lust. But the thing you don’t hear much about is anger. Maybe it’s because we think anger is not that dangerous, that you can control it. My point is, maybe we don’t give anger enough credit. Maybe it can be a lot more dangerous than we think. After all, when it comes to destructive behavior, it did make the top seven.”

Losing My Religion Quotes

ALEX: “Izz, its not Denny. The minute his heart stopped beating, he stopped being Denny. I know you love him… but he also loved you. And a guy that loves you like that, he doesn’t want you to do this to yourself. Because its not Denny, Not any more.”

MEREDITH: “No! I’m not alright? Okay? Are you satisfied? I’m not alright. Because you have a wife, and you call me a whore, and our dog died, and now you’re looking at me again. Stop looking at me.”
DEREK: “I’m not looking at you. I am not looking at you.”
MEREDITH: “You are looking at me. And you watch me. And Finn has plans. I like Finn. He’s perfect for me, and I’m really trying here to be happy, and I feel like I can’t breathe. I can’t breathe with you looking at me like that, so just stop!”
DEREK: “You think I want to look at you? That I wouldn’t rather be looking at my wife? I’m married. I have responsibilities. She doesn’t drive me crazy. She doesn’t make it impossible for me to feel normal. She doesn’t make me sick to my stomach thinking about my veterinarian touching her with his hands. Man, I would give anything to not be looking at you!”

FINN: “Liz… Liz was my wife. When she died… you do this thing where you stop making plans. Because you had plans but then there was a car crash and your plans disappeared so you just… I just try to get from sunup to sundown. That’s as far into the future as I can handle. I’ve been fine with that, I have, but right now, looking at you… damn, I have all kinds of plans. Don’t freak out.”

CALLI: “I said I love you. I said it. I said it out loud, to your face. And ever since… I’ve never said that to a guy before, ever. Now I’m just this idiot that says I love you and gets avoided.”
GEORGE: “Stop fighting me! If I say it back right now, you know I’m just saying it ’cause you said it to me. When I… when I say I love you, I wanna mean it, because… You just have to give me some time to mean it.”
CALLI: “I hate that I’m so into you.”

MEREDITH: “I’ve been going over this and over this in my mind trying to piece this together. It was you. You’re the reason my parents broke up. And it wasn’t just an affair, she really loved you. It wasn’t just this cheap thing where she didn’t tell you she was married. It wasn’t all a lie. She left her husband for you. But you stayed with your wife, because it was the right thing to do. Maybe safe, but she was the right person for you to be with. Let’s face it, my mother? Nothing wrong with being safe, being with the good guy because he’s good and we are talking about forever here. You’ve never regretted your decision. You’ve never looked back… right?”

GEORGE: [to Richard] “Aren’t you gonna say anything or … I’m not gonna break… I’m starting to get a little freaked out, but I’m not gonna break. It’s not because I don’t care, because I do care what you think about me, I do. Care. I just can’t tell you want you wanna hear. Which seems to be a theme in my life right now. Just because you can’t say something doesn’t mean you don’t want to. You can want to very much. You can be with a person and be happy with them and not love them. And you can love somebody and not want to be with them. You don’t need to love someone to want them. Now that’s frustrating, when what your brain tells you you want and what you actually want don’t match up. It’s exhausting. And, well, its complicated. But that’s life. And life… sucks.”

IZZIE: “He doesn’t make me feel like I’m a pretty girl. He makes me feel like… like me. I think he might know me. And so, if I did cut the LVAT wire, and I’m not saying that I did, but if I did, then no. I don’t feel guilty. I know that I should. I would if it were anybody else’s. But I can’t feel anything but happy.”

CRISTINA: [pauses] “You’re right, it’s not easy for me to be away from the O.R. And it’s not easy for me to sit in front of you, or any other authority figure for that matter, and not be able to give you the exact answer that you want to hear. I’m the one with the answers. I’ve always been the one with the answers. But right now, sir, I don’t have any.”

ALEX: [to Richard] “Let’s say you were drafted to a team that wasn’t your first pick. You know, you don’t like the players. You hate the way they play the game. You even think the quarterback is full of crap. The quarterback’s a pain in the ass you don’t owe a damn thing to. But, it’s your team. You don’t quit. You don’t talk to the press. You don’t bitch to the coach. You just… you go out there on Sunday and you make the blocks and you take the hits and you play to win. You show up and you suit up and you play, because it’s your freaking team.”

DENNY: “No, no. We’re taking turns. I’ve decided. It’s polite and it keeps me from yelling. When it’s your turn again, you can talk. For five years, I’ve had to live by the choices of my doctors. The guys that cut me open decided my life. There wasn’t one choice that was mine. Now, I have this heart that beats, that works. I get to be like everybody else, I get to make my own decisions, have my own life, do whatever the damn hell I choose. Now here’s the good part, so you listen close. What I choose… is you. You’re who I want to wake up with and go to bed with and do everything in between with. I get a choice now. I get to choose. I choose you, Izzie Stevens. Okay, it’s your turn again.”

Damage Case Quotes

MEREDITH: [narrating] “We all go through life like bulls in a china shop. A chip here, a crack there. Doing damage to ourselves, to other people. The problem is trying to control the damage we’ve done, or that’s been done to us. Sometimes the damage catches us by surprise. Sometimes we think we can fix the damage.”

MEREDITH: “I know. I’m just saying… you know, I don’t cook. So you don’t have to cook, I don’t expect you to cook for me.”
FINN: “Okay, look. You, sit there. I want you to drink this and try really hard to act like you aren’t scary and damaged.”
MEREDITH: “I’m not scary and damaged.”
FINN: “Yeah, you are.”
MEREDITH: “No, I’m not scary or damaged.”

HUSBAND: “Whats happening. I can’t really wrap my brain around whats happening. You know, I’m from here, and I go away to college and I come back married to this big-haired, drawling, southern girl. Everyone I know thinks I’m crazy, but I love her. I just love her. And whats happening is that my big-haired southern girl could be dying and I can’t think about that. You know, I need to think about something else. Something that doesn’t matter so much, something that doesn’t have me burying my 22-year old wife and baby. So, so, what the hell did you do?”

MEREDITH: “You don’t get to call me a whore. When I met you, I thought I had found the person that I was going to spend the rest of my life with. I was done! All the boys and all the bars and all the obvious daddy issues, who cares? I was done. You left me. You chose Addison. I’m all glued back together now. I make no apologies for how I chose to repair what you broke. You don’t get to call me a whore.”
DEREK: “This thing with us is finished. It’s over.”
MEREDITH: “Finally.”
DEREK: “Yeah, it’s done.”
MEREDITH: “It is done.”

MEREDITH: [narrating] “We’re all damaged, it seems. Some of us more than others. We carry the damage with us from childhood, then as grown-ups, we give as good as we get. Ultimately, we all do damage. And then, we set about the business of fixing whatever we can.”

Deterioration of the Fight or Flight Response Quotes

MEREDITH: “The point is we can’t help who we fall in love with.”

GEORGE: “Stop saying you’re sorry! [long pause] You wanna know something? I knew. I knew you didn’t feel that way about me, even during… when we were in bed I knew. I knew and I still let it happen, because, um… well, I figured one night with you was better than never. So, will you just stop saying that you’re sorry? ‘Cause you didn’t know any better, but I did. And I still let it happen. I’m sorry. [long pause] I’m sorry, Meredith.”

MEREDITH: “Human beings need a lot of things to feel alive.”
GEORGE: “Family”
CRISTINA: “Love”
IZZIE: “Sex”
DEREK: “But we only need one thing”
RICHARD: “To actually be alive.”

flippylen19
flippylen19 wrote on Jun 20, ’07
tag ka dyan! galit ako sa’yo! hmpf! hindi ka na sumasagot sa YM nagka-lovelife ka lang. isa pang hmpf!

karlolegasto
karlolegasto wrote on Jun 20, ’07
TAG?!?

Leave a Reply

Charlotte Farhan Art - Creating Change

Visual Artist, Published Illustrator, Writer, owner / editor of ASLI Magazine, activist to end rape culture and campaigner to end stigma against mental illness. #artsaveslives

A Tourist, A Traveler and A Lover of Art

I always believe that if you've experienced something extraordinary, you have no right to keep it to yourself. Paola Nazario

Monsoon Breeze

Homely Thoughts and Arabian Dreams

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

MIRAGE

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one. So get a few laughs and do the best you can. Don't have an ideal to work for. That's like riding towards the mirage of a lake.

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Cinta, serta berbagi kata yang baru terupdate

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Kata Cinta, Kata Ucapan, dan berbagi kata hanya untuk kesenangan

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

