Little Miss Drama

Paulo Coelho: Eleven Minutes

on March 18, 2008

Just some things from Coelho’s Eleven Minutes…

– I’ve realized that sometimes you get no second chance and that it’s best to accept the gift the world offers you.

When we meet someone and fall in love, we have a sense that the whole universe is on our side. And yet if something goes wrong, there is nothing left! Life moves very fast. It rushes us from heaven to hell in a matter of seconds.

– No one owns anything and everything is an illusion.

– It is not time that changes man, nor knowledge; the only thing that can change someone’s mind is love. (What nonsense!)

– I’m far too lonely to think about love, but I have to believe that it will happen, that I will find a job and that I am here because I chose this fate. The roller coaster is my life; life is a fast, dizzying game; life is a parachute jump; it’s taking chances, falling over and getting up again; it’s wanting to get to the very top of yourself and to feel angry and dissatisfied when you don’t manage it.

– That’s what the world is like: people talk as if they knew anything, but if you dare to ask a question, they don’t know anything.

– Human beings can withstand a week without water, two weeks without food, many years of homelessness, but not loneliness. It is the worst of all tortures, the worst of all sufferings.

– In love, no one can harm anyone else; we are each of us responsible for our own feelings and cannot blame someone else for what we feel.

– No one loses anyone, because no one owns anyone. That is the true experience of freedom; having the most important thing in the world without owning it.

– I’m teaching you because I have discovered something I didn’t know before. The giving of gifts. Giving something of one’s own. giving something important rather than asking.

– I’ve learned that waiting is the most difficult bit, and I want to get used to the feeling, knowing that you’re with me, even when you’re not by my side.

– …the inevitable wil happen, that what is real always finds a way of revealing itself.

– I have met a man and fallen in love with him. I allowed myself to fall in love for one simple reason: I am not expecting anything to come of it. I know that, in a month’s time, I’ll be far away and he’ll be just a memory, but I could not stand living without love any longer; I had reached my limit.

– The most experiences a man can have are those that take him to the very limit; that is the only way we learn, because it requires all our courage.

– The strongest love is love that can demonstrate its fragility.

Pain leads to pleasure and at the same time can give you peace. Don’t get used to it, because it’s very easy to become habituated; it’s a very powerful drug. It’s in our daily lives, in our hidden sufferings, in the sacrifices we make, blaming love for the destruction of our dreams. Pain is frightening when it shows its real face, but it’s seductive when it comes disguised as a sacrfice or self-denial. Or cowardice. However much we may reject it, we human beings always find a way of being with pain, of flirting with it and making it part of our lives.

– “What the eyes don’t see, the heart does not grieve over.” Well, I say that there isn’t an ounce of truth in it. The further off they are, the closer to the heart are all those feelings that we try to repress and forget. If we’re far from the person we love, everyone we pass in the street reminds us of them.

Leave a Reply

Charlotte Farhan Art - Creating Change

Visual Artist, Published Illustrator, Writer, Editor, Activist and Managing Director of ASLI non-profit

A Tourist, A Traveler and A Lover of Art

I always believe that if you've experienced something extraordinary, you have no right to keep it to yourself. Paola Nazario

Monsoon Breeze

Homely Thoughts and Arabian Dreams

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

MIRAGE

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one. So get a few laughs and do the best you can. Don't have an ideal to work for. That's like riding towards the mirage of a lake.

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Cinta, serta berbagi kata yang baru terupdate

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Kata Cinta, Kata Ucapan, dan berbagi kata hanya untuk kesenangan

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

