Little Miss Drama

A different Christmas, a different joy.

on December 23, 2009

Normally, December is my happiest month because of the holidays. I am always eager for Christmas despite the expenses. However, this year is going to be different for some reason.

This will be the third time I will be celebrating Christmas here in Abu Dhabi. But like I’ve said, this is going to be different because back in 2006, my first Christmas here, I celebrated the holidays with Nessa and her whole family and it was really fun. We even exchanged gifts and then party after. But this year, nobody’s in the flat but just me and my two other friends who happen to be my flatmates. The rest has gone back home to celebrate this festive season with their own families.

Despite the homesickness and loneliness, I don’t want it to get to us. Thus, we plan to have our own Christmas party in the flat on Christmas eve. Cher, my friend, has invited two other girlfriends to join us. There will be eight of us celebrating the noche buena – Jax, Candy, Bertrand, Cher, Krissy, Jenny, Tina and myself. We’ll also have our exchange gifts tradition.

And on Christmas day, I will be celebrating it with my other friends in Dubai. I’m grateful that Tine and Andrew invited me to join their Christmas party together with their other colleagues and friends. Duane, my friend from college, naturally, would be there since he was the one who introduced me to these fabulous people.

My role on both parties is to bring the baked salmon with mushrooms, a recipe I have learned from Tita Olga.

I just recently finished wrapping all my Christmas presents for my friends although I still haven’t bought the gift for our exchange gift in the flat due to a very hectic and exhausting schedule. I’m actually supposed to go to Marks and Spencer after work today but because I feel so tired, I’ve decided to just go home and rest. I’ll just do that on Thursday, I guess.

It’s just fortunate that we, Christians, have no work on Thursday in preparation for Christmas. Since this is a Muslim country, Christmas has never been a big deal despite the number of Christian expats. Like I’ve said, we’re just lucky.

Christmas may not be the same this year but it doesn’t have to suck as I’ve feared it would. I cannot say I do not miss home however, despite being miles away from my family, I still want to celebrate my favorite holiday of all with the same smile, bliss and enthusiasm it brings me every year. These plans and get-togethers are just a way to somehow alleviate that sadness I feel. After all, it will just be a few more weeks before I come back home.

And so, as I celebrate Christmas filled with optimism and joy together with all my friends here, I wish everyone back home a splendid and blessed Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Charlotte Farhan Art - Creating Change

Visual Artist, Published Illustrator, Writer, Editor, Activist and Managing Director of ASLI non-profit

A Tourist, A Traveler and A Lover of Art

I always believe that if you've experienced something extraordinary, you have no right to keep it to yourself. Paola Nazario

Monsoon Breeze

Homely Thoughts and Arabian Dreams

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

MIRAGE

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one. So get a few laughs and do the best you can. Don't have an ideal to work for. That's like riding towards the mirage of a lake.

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Cinta, serta berbagi kata yang baru terupdate

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Kata Cinta, Kata Ucapan, dan berbagi kata hanya untuk kesenangan

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

