Little Miss Drama

Joaqui’s Bath Time

on October 21, 2012

I was never taught in the hospital how to bathe Joaqui. My mom didn’t also know how to bathe newborns like him because all three of us (my siblings)  were given a bath by someone else (either a relative or a helper). So I turned on to the internet. YouTube specifically.  And checked how it is being done. I’ve seen a couple of videos and some of them were differently done.

I had to start giving him a bath when he was already on his Day 12th because he was in the Neo-natal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) for 10 days. He was admitted there a day after I gave birth due to pneumonia. Being on his Day 12th, it’s easier to hold him compared to really “new” newborns. Yet, I still had a hard time giving him a bath.

My mom’s hands now are not strong enough to hold him still so I had to do it because Joaqui flinches a lot and he keeps kicking despite being just days old. It was hard to hold him still because he was moving a lot and at the same time fragile.

I even bought this bathing stuff where you can place a baby to give him a bath but it never worked for him. Nothing worked for him except for being laid down on a towel.

During my first time to give him a bath, I would always panic and in a rush because my mom would keep telling me to finish right away and that it should just be quick. etc. And the more she says these things, the more I tend to take more time.

One time, I was able to talk to a childhood friend and she suggested I buy this baby bath foam where you can place the baby for support.

ImageThis is how it similarly looked like. I bought one from SM Department Store for just around Php200, I think. It made my bath time with Joaqui easier.

But since he still moves a lot and cries a lot when taking a bath, I could never get any photo of him during his bath time. Only the after pics. 😀

Image

ImageHe’s actually happy after his bath time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Charlotte Farhan Art - Creating Change

Visual Artist, Published Illustrator, Writer, Editor, Activist and Managing Director of ASLI non-profit

A Tourist, A Traveler and A Lover of Art

I always believe that if you've experienced something extraordinary, you have no right to keep it to yourself. Paola Nazario

Monsoon Breeze

Homely Thoughts and Arabian Dreams

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

MIRAGE

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one. So get a few laughs and do the best you can. Don't have an ideal to work for. That's like riding towards the mirage of a lake.

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Cinta, serta berbagi kata yang baru terupdate

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Kata Cinta, Kata Ucapan, dan berbagi kata hanya untuk kesenangan

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

