Little Miss Drama

Update: The Battle with the Formula Milk

on November 21, 2012

Last month, I wrote about the challenge of mixed feeding Joaqui with the formula milk. After calling his pedia asking about an alternative to Nan HA One, we were advised to use Nan Pro One.  Again, it had something to do with my allergies and the possible reaction Joaqui could have on a formula milk that was why it was still Nan and not any other formula.

We were only able to try Nan Pro One on the 2nd week of November after Joaqui’s visit to his pedia, Dr. Garcia. It was hard to find just a small can of Nan Pro One in our area and I didn’t want to buy the big one yet unless I know that Joaqui will like it.

The moment we got home, I tried giving it to him and as compared to Nan HA One, he was drinking this a bit. He’s not spitting it out the way he used to with Nan HA One. So, there’s hope. But I still could not let him get to drink it alone. He would just play with it. So I decided to make him drink the formula milk while I am breastfeeding. It was not easy. Most of the time it was painful.  But I had to make him drink the formula milk for him to gain some weight. I had no other choice.

Fortunately, he was able to finish the first 2 ounces I made in just a few minutes. So I made another two just right after. And it was finished again in an instant. I was just so proud of my baby. Finally! He’s no longer rejecting the formula milk.  And even before a week’s time, we already ran out of milk that we had to buy a new one.

Through time, I was able to learn also Joaqui’s pace – when I should make more or when I should just breastfeed him. I learned that I could not make him drink his formula milk when he’s already half asleep because he tends to just sleep on it and the milk ends up getting wasted. I also had to change the 1:1 ratio of milk and water because it seems he’s been grunting a lot before pooping and I’m just afraid that he might end up getting constipated.

Now, I think Joaqui’s doing a good job with the formula milk. I also think that he has already gained weight as compared to the last time we were at his pedia’s clinic. I still cannot leave him because he still won’t drink his milk on a bottle alone. I will always need to be around for him to be able to feed.  But we will try to achieve that next time. Hopefully, soon. 😉

Leave a Reply

Charlotte Farhan Art - Creating Change

Visual Artist, Published Illustrator, Writer, Editor, Activist and Managing Director of ASLI non-profit

A Tourist, A Traveler and A Lover of Art

I always believe that if you've experienced something extraordinary, you have no right to keep it to yourself. Paola Nazario

Monsoon Breeze

Homely Thoughts and Arabian Dreams

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

MIRAGE

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one. So get a few laughs and do the best you can. Don't have an ideal to work for. That's like riding towards the mirage of a lake.

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Cinta, serta berbagi kata yang baru terupdate

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Kata Cinta, Kata Ucapan, dan berbagi kata hanya untuk kesenangan

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

