Little Miss Drama

Joaqui and Jo Bedu

on March 11, 2013

Before leaving Jordan, I wanted to buy something for my son. Something that I will only get from Jordan but also something not that expensive. I asked Aya, my colleague, about it. She immediately thought of Jo Bedu. Of course, I was clueless the moment she said the name.  She explained to me that it is a brand of clothing which is very famous in Jordan. Naturally, I asked about the price range since everything in Jordan is quite expensive. 😀 She told me it would range from $8 – $15 for a shirt. Not bad.

She asked me to check the Jo Bedu’s FB page. From their FB account, it’s mentioned that “Jo Bedu delivers modern Arab pop culture as it is portrayed through the different styles of creative Arab designers, illustrators, writers and artists.”

Aya offered to go with me to check the shop one night after work. I remember it was a Thursday so we didn’t have work the next day and I had nothing to do anyway in my flat.

At around 7-7:30pm, Aya was already parked in front of my building. We headed to the shop right away. There were many shirts and hoodies but most of the writings were in Arabic. I checked the shirts for kids. I actually wanted a hoodie but then Joaqui might not get to use it as often as a shirt since Manila isn’t as cold as Amman in the first place so shirt it is.

The shirts for kids still look a bit big for an 8-9 month old baby. Aya asked the guy form the shop and he told us that the size XS would already fit for a one year old. Just what I needed. It has the design “I (camel image) JO”. Jo could stand for either Jo Bedu or Jordan. They were being sold in black and in white and I chose white. I think Joaqui’s too young to start wearing a black colored shirt plus I know that my mom would not like it so no to black for now.

Aya showed me another shirt in blue color with an Arabic writing. I asked her what it meant and she said it says “Oh my God, I’m awesome!”. Of course, I liked it and decided to get that too. But they had no XS size anymore so I got the S size instead. He’ll be wearing it by the time he reaches 18 months, I think. 😀

Both shirts only cost JD8 each, I think. Yay!

When we were already at the counter, Aya told me that she would buy these shirts for Joaqui as a gift. At first I actually didn’t understand what she said when she told me about it and I just said ok so when she started paying for the shirts I was like “Oh no! Are you sure? Thank you.” Hahaha!

When I got back home in Manila, I had Joaqui try the white shirt on so I could see on whether he could already wear it or if it would still be a bit big.

pizap.com13630220093431

Joaqui and his Jo Bedu shirt

I think he could start wearing this one now, right? 😀

I immediately got my camera and took photos of him so that I could also send them to Aya once uploaded.

pizap.com13630221473901

More photos wearing Jo Bedu

Leave a Reply

Charlotte Farhan Art - Creating Change

Visual Artist, Published Illustrator, Writer, Editor, Activist and Managing Director of ASLI non-profit

A Tourist, A Traveler and A Lover of Art

I always believe that if you've experienced something extraordinary, you have no right to keep it to yourself. Paola Nazario

Monsoon Breeze

Homely Thoughts and Arabian Dreams

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

MIRAGE

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one. So get a few laughs and do the best you can. Don't have an ideal to work for. That's like riding towards the mirage of a lake.

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Cinta, serta berbagi kata yang baru terupdate

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Kata Cinta, Kata Ucapan, dan berbagi kata hanya untuk kesenangan

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

