Little Miss Drama

It was a Wicked night :)

on January 26, 2014
Image

Photo from Rappler.com

I have always loved watching musicals and every time something comes up in Manila, Joie, one of my CVG friends and now my kumare, makes it a point to inform me about it. Joie, and her bestfriend, Beth, have eventually become my ‘musicals buddies’. We’ve watched West Side Story, Rent, Mama Mia! together and Wicked is the latest (I missed Cats because I was not in the Philippines when it was shown). We were booked as early as September and at that time I was still a work from home mom that now  I had to move my work schedule (yes, I’m back in the call center industry) from 12am-9am from the usual 9pm-6am. 

I was supposed to meet them up at Joie’s place at 6pm but due to an unexpected traffic from Pasig to Shaw last Friday night, I came 30 minutes late. Joie has a car now so we didn’t have to take a cab anymore as we used to. Joie checked in with Elvis, her machine navigator (I really have no idea what it’s called) for the fastest route we could take from her place to CCP. On the way, both Joie and Beth were already feeling hopeless that we would make it on time and might just end up watching the second act while I was feeling guilty and just kept praying that we somehow make it.

Kuya Jess is really great because he has heard my prayers! We were parked at exactly 7:30pm near CCP, half-running, half-walking while wearing short dresses and heels towards the theater. I was running out of breath by the time we reached the elevator. We were seated just 3-5 minutes before the show started.

Prior to coming here, I had no idea what Wicked is all about. Unlike the previous musical plays we saw, I really had zero knowledge about this one. I tried checking out its story in Wikipedia but after reading just a few information, I decided it would be better that I don’t know it’s story when I watch it. I just checked the songs used in it that I might be familiar with.

During first act, I was laughing because of the lines delivered especially by Glinda; I was in awe of how great the characters were especially of both Elphaba and Glinda; and I was in tears after Elphaba started opening up to Glinda of how she felt it was all her fault why Nessarose had ended up the way she did.

I cried again during the second act when Glinda realized Fiyero didn’t love her and chose Elphaba over her and how their friendship turned sour. I cried when Fiyero was alone with Elphaba in a cave telling her “it’s not a lie. It’s how you look at things differently.” I cried when Nessarose blamed Elphaba for everything Elphaba and Glinda made up and ended up being best friends again.

Image

Photo from Rappler.com: Elphaba & Glinda

Grabe! Sinipon talaga ko kakaiyak habang pasimpleng nagpupunas ng luha! :))

I’d say this has been the best of the few musicals I’ve seen. Ibang klase. Gusto mong ulit-ulitin. 😀

 

***My camera’s memory card got busted and won’t work now no matter what I do. I lost the few photos I took so I just grabbed some photos from Rappler.com. 

 

Leave a Reply

Charlotte Farhan Art - Creating Change

Visual Artist, Published Illustrator, Writer, owner / editor of ASLI Magazine, activist to end rape culture and campaigner to end stigma against mental illness. #artsaveslives

A Tourist, A Traveler and A Lover of Art

I always believe that if you've experienced something extraordinary, you have no right to keep it to yourself. Paola Nazario

Monsoon Breeze

Homely Thoughts and Arabian Dreams

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

MIRAGE

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one. So get a few laughs and do the best you can. Don't have an ideal to work for. That's like riding towards the mirage of a lake.

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Cinta, serta berbagi kata yang baru terupdate

Kumpulan Kata-kata Sedih, Kata Bijak, Kata Kata Cinta, Kata Ucapan, dan berbagi kata hanya untuk kesenangan

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

